Weed High School’s second Hall of Fame ceremony on Sept. 12 will recognize coach Jack Harris and 16 Cougar athletes who graduated between 1949 and 1986.
Last year’s inaugural Hall of Fame event filled Sons of Italy Hall with inductees, family, friends, stories of Cougar sports glory, a few tall tales, laughter and a tear or two.
Tickets for this year’s ceremony and sit-down dinner by Tony Aquila are available now by calling Mike Carpine at 938-4631 or at Weed High School after Aug. 1.
Jack Harris was a Cougar coach from 1959 to ’83. Half of this year’s eight football inductees played during the Harris era: Terry Linville (’64) and Omri Hildreth (’64), Mike DeRoss (’71) and Otis Brown (’72).
A trio of four-year lettermen are also joining the Hall:? Dave Sbarbaro Jr. (1954), Gerald “Mickey” Risberg (1951) and Louis Gonzales (1955).
This year’s only female inductee is Lisa Delgado (1986, softball).
Following is a complete list of the 2009 inductees who will be honored Sept. 12:
Weed High School Hall of Fame Inductees 2009
John “Jack” Harris, football, 1959-1983
David Sbarbaro Jr., four year letterman, 1954
Ernie Acutt, football, 1949
Gerald “Mickey” Risberg, four year letterman, 1951
Henry Chiodo, football, 1949
Joe DeLuca, football, 1951
John Dixon, baseball, 1964
Kim Bradshaw, track, 1955
Lee Ferrero, track, 1964
Lisa Delgado, softball, 1986
Louis Gonzales, four year letterman, 1955
Mike DeRoss, football, 1971
Omri Hildreth, football, 1964
Otis Brown, football, 1972
Paul Adams, football, 1951
Terry Linville, football, 1964
Vince Tallerico, baseball, 1955