Mount Shasta High School won the Northern Section Division 3 girls tennis championship and placed second to University Prep in the boys and girls combined the weekend of May 14-15 in Redding.

Jeanette Ricci won the section singles title and teamed with Sydney Miller to win the girls doubles championship.

Ricci played the same two girls that she defeated in the league tournament to earn her title. Her section match against Noemi Faligant of U-Prep “was incredibly long with long rallies, and very defensive play,” said Mount Shasta coach Justin Lowenthal. The match against Annaleisa Nadig of Etna “was as intense as the last. The first set could have gone either way and the second was still competitive,”?Lowenthal said.

Spencer Gautreaux and Warwick Runnels won their first match in doubles then had a close match against the doubles team that took second place (McCray/Wester of Etna). “These two boys will be in the running for titles next year,”?Lowenthal said of Gautreaux and Runnels.

After a first round bye, Gautreaux won two matches in boys singles and Runnells won one.

Sydney Miller won one match in girls singles, while James Crossen and Russell Hatakeda both won first round matches in boys singles.

Assistant coach Michelle Salinas-Dick escorted the girls team on Saturday during the finals while Lowenthal was on an academic field trip. “She fulfilled the role perfectly and led our girls to the championship medals they received,”?he said.

“I am incredibly proud of the work these student athletes did, and the rewards speak for themselves,”?said Lowenthal. “We all learned a lot about each other this season. We were a new team, with many previously non-competing players filling in and becoming champion athletes. With the help of a healthy group of team parents, a very spirited high school, and an enthusiastic local tennis community, MSHS Bear Tennis proved its viability.”

Team honors presented to the Bears were:
Boys MVP:?Spencer Gautreaux
Girls MVP: Jeanette Ricci
Boys Most Improved: Matthew Higer
Girls Most Improved: Erika Ebel
Boys Rookie of the Year: Warwick Runnels                  
Girls Rookie of the Year: Julie Ostrowski