Siskiyou County will send its top four Spelling Bee contestants to statewide competitions in May, including students from Sisson School in Mount Shasta, Weed Elementary, Butteville Elementary and Montague Elementary.

The top two finishers in both the Elementary and Junior High divisions qualified to advance during the 32nd annual Siskiyou County Spelling Bee on Thursday, Feb. 8, at College of the Siskiyous in Weed.

Isaiah Higer-Rivera of Weed Elementary placed first in the countywide elementary competition, and Jed Moore from Montague was second.

Nathaniel Bekaert of Sisson School in Mount Shasta placed first in the countywide junior high bee, and Lukas Bradford of Butteville was second.

Thirty students in grades 4-6 from 18 schools competed in the elementary bee; and 23 students in grades 7-9 from 14 schools competed in the junior high competition.

Isiah and Jed qualified for the State Elementary Bee on May 12 at the San Joaquin County Office of Education.

Nathaniel and Lukas qualified for the State Junior High Bee on May 5 in San Rafael.

Nathaniel won the county elementary bee last year and he placed second as a fourth grader in 2015.

The county-wide bee is coordinated by the Siskiyou County Office of Education and sponsored by the Knights of Columbus Chapter #2599.

Jim Mathews from the Knights of Columbus is instrumental in obtaining donations that support the students and their families in their travel to the state competitions. The Siskiyou County Board of Education pays the student registration fees.

The following local business provided funding: Aiello, Goodrich and Teuscher, CPAs; Campbell Global, LLC; Delta Kappa Gamma Gamma Nu; Edgewood Custom Interiors; Edward Jones Mark Clure; Fairchild Medical Center; Dignity Health, dba Mercy Medical Center; Mt. Shasta Ski Park; Northland Cable TV; Pepsi Cola Bottling, Mt. Shasta; Scott Valley Bank; Siskiyou County Board of Education; St. Anthony’s Bingo Committee; Tri Counties Bank; and the following individual donors: Vaune and Barbara Dillmann, Jarmann Mudd and Ky Schroeder.