Dunsmuir Elementary School’s Class of 2017 moved on to high school with many special awards after the graduation ceremony held Thursday, June 8 in the school gymnasium.

After the class slide show, Onnalisa Rose gave a speech titled “To The Stars,” followed by Zakkary Powell’s speech, “The End of the Beginning.”

Sarah Davis and Deja Tucker were masters of ceremony.

Will Newman was the guest speaker, and Jylianna Andrade spoke on “Quines Queremos Ser” (Who We Want To Be).

Special awards were presented by staff members Lucinda Rinne, Helen Herd, Susan Keeler and Ms. White.

The DES Choir, directed by Mari Emerson, sang “Here’s To The Future,” composed by John Jacobson and Roger Emerson.

The ceremony began with Johnathan Helweg leading the Pledge of Allegiance, and Superintendent/Principal Helen Herd giving the Welcome address.

Diplomas were presented by district trustees Ellen McArron, Lori Padilla and Will Newman, then the graduates left to the building to the recessional: “Stand Tall” by Dirty Heads.

Class of 2017 members were: Jylianna Natalia Andrade, Katie Lynn Austin, Sarah A. Davis, Adin Fielden, Jesse Grozav, Johnathan Louis Helweg, Alejandra Elania Maria Lara, Noah Eric Mathwig, Phillip Myers, Zakkary Vance Powell, Onnalisa M. Rose, Jerome Micheal Saverimuttu, Deja Tucker.

Following is a list of awards:

Katie Austin, ACSA All-Star Student Award.

Onnalisa Rose, ACSA All-Star Student Award.

Sarah Davis, Excellence in Art Award.

Johnathan Helweg, Excellence in History Award.

Zakkary Powell, Excellence in History Award.

Zakkary Powell – Excellence in Technology Award.

Onnalisa Rose, Leadership Award.

Adin Fielden, Mathematics Excellence Award.

Onnalisa Rose, Mathematics Excellence Award.

Adin Fielden, Pancho Fairhurst Running Award.

Johnathan Helweg, Physical Fitness Award.

Jylianna Andrade, Reading Excellence Award.

Katie Austin, Reading Excellence Award.

Jylianna Andrade, Scholar/Athlete Award.

Adin Fielden, Scholar/Athlete Award.

Sarah Davis, Science Excellence Award.

Jylianna Andrade, Wild Readers of the Year.

Katie Austin, Wild Readers of the Year.

Zakkary Powell, Wild Readers of the Year.

Onnalisa Rose, Wild Readers of the Year.

Jylianna Andrade, Writing Excellence Award.

Sarah Davis, Writing Excellence Award.

President’s Education Awards Program

Sarah Davis, Outstanding Academic Excellence.

Jylianna Andrade, Outstanding Academic Excellence.

Onnalisa Rose, Outstanding Academic Excellence.

Katie Austin, Outstanding Academic Excellence.

Adin Fielden, Outstanding Academic Achievement.

Zakkary Powell, Outstanding Academic Achievement.

Johnathan Helweg, Outstanding Academic Achievement.