Haverty named chair; Schroder begins final year

Grace Johnson

Commissioner Dale Haverty was elected chairman of the Otoe County Board of Commissioners on Tuesday, replacing Commissioner Joy Schroder. Schroder said he will not seek re-election for the third district seat for 2009.

Other appointments made at the Jan. 8 meeting included Joy Schroder as the SENDD (Southeast Nebraska Development District) representative and Region V representative, Zoe Thummel as the SENCA (Southeast Nebraska Community Action Council) representative and Dale Haverty as the RCEDC (River Country Economic Development Corporation) representative.

In other news from the commissioners’ meeting, RCEDC Director Pat Haverty said Diversified Foods and Seasonings has hired 50 employees and the plant should reach full production soon.

Commissioners approved the annual contract for weed superintendent Jim Myers. The contract totals $36,500. Myers said progress is being made in removing obstructions from the front of road signs.

Last year, commissioners voted to declare sirecea lespedeza a noxious weed in Otoe County. Myers said there have been two outbreaks since then, one outside of Burr and one in Palmyra.