How the HOF selection process works

Staff reports

The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 44-person Board of Selectors consists of one media representative from each pro football city -- two from New York -- with a representative of the Pro Football Writers of America and 11 at-large delegates.

The board meets each year on the day before the Super Bowl to select between four and seven new members. Of the 17 candidates, two are proposed by the Seniors Committee. A candidate must receive at least 80 percent (36 votes) approval to be elected.

Any fan may nominate any person who has been connected with pro football in any capacity simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

A player and coach must have last played or coached at least five seasons -- and no more than 20 seasons -- to be considered. For example, a candidate for the 2009 class must have concluded his career not later than the 2003 season.

Canton Repository

Hall of Fame Board of Selectors

* Indicates member of Senior Selection Committee

Arizona: Kent Somers, Arizona Republic

Atlanta: Len Pasquarelli,

Baltimore: Scott Garceau, WMAR-TV

Buffalo: Mark Gaughan, Buffalo News

Carolina: Charles Chandler, Charlotte Observer

Chicago: Dan Pompei, Chicago Tribune

Cincinnati: Chick Ludwig, Dayton Daily News

Cleveland: Tony Grossi, Cleveland Plain Dealer

Dallas: Rick Gosselin, Dallas Morning News*

Denver: Jeff Legwold, Rocky Mountain News

Detroit: Mike O'Hara, The Detroit News

Green Bay: Cliff Christl, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Houston: John McClain, Houston Chronicle*

Indianapolis: Mike Chappell, Indianapolis Star

Jacksonville: Sam Kouvaris, WJXT-TV

Kansas City: Bob Gretz, KCFX Overland Park, KS

Miami: Edwin Pope, Miami Herald*

Minnesota: Sid Hartman, The Minneapolis Star-Tribune

New England: Ron Borges, HBO Sports/Pro Football Weekly

New Orleans: Pete Finney, Times-Picayune

New York (Giants): Vinny DiTrani, Bergen Record

New York (Jets): Paul Zimmerman, Sports Illustrated

Oakland: Frank Cooney, The Sports Xchange

Philadelphia: Paul Domowitch, Philadelphia Daily News

Pittsburgh: Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

St. Louis: Bernie Miklasz, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

San Diego: Jerry Magee, San Diego Union Tribune*

San Francisco: Ira Miller, The Sports Xchange*

Seattle: Clare Farnsworth, Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Tampa Bay: Ira Kaufman, Tampa Tribune

Tennessee: David Climer, The Tennessean

Washington: David Elfin, Washington Times

PFWA: Charean Williams, Ft. Worth Star Telegram

At large: Howard Balzer, The Sports Xchange

At large: Jarrett Bell, USA Today

At large: John Clayton, ESPN/ESPN Magazine

At large: John Czarnecki,

At large: Nancy Gay, San Francisco Chronicle

At large: Dave Goldberg, Associated Press*

At large: Peter King, Sports Illustrated

At large: Bob Oates, Los Angeles Times

At large: Len Shapiro, Miami Herald*

At large: Vito Stellino, Florida Times Union

At large: Jim Trotter, Sports Illustrated