Sisson graduates head toward their goals

Skye Kinkade
Sisson Elementary School graduates celebrated at the conclusion of their commencement ceremony on Thursday with dozens of bottle rockets sending festive streamers into the air.

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step” was the quote selected for the Sisson Elementary School graduating class of 2010.

“Your journey begins right now,” said principal Kathi Emerson at the commencement ceremony held in the Sisson gymnasium on Thursday evening. “Up until now, your journey has been together in homerooms. Starting today, you’ll each start on an individual path toward your own destination.”

Emerson encouraged each of the graduates to make conscious decisions and to have the willingness to “walk 1,000 miles in the direction of their goals.”

Following Emerson’s welcome, graduates Katie Clute-Reinig, Autumn Heie and Kelsie Titus presented the class history.

The majority of the class began kindergarten together at Mount Shasta Elementary School in 2001, the girls said. They then recalled details from each grade and pointed out classmates that joined them that year.

“In school, you learn a lesson, and then have a test. In life, you have a test, then learn a lesson,” said Titus.

Following the class history, Tori Hansen was awarded the Mount Shasta City Pin by Mayor Pro Tem Sandra Spelliscy, and Sue Christopher presented Natalie Patterson and Weston Stroud with the Kiwanis Citizenship Award.

Following the awards, 82 students crossed the stage to receive diplomas from Mount Shasta Union School District board members Paul Schwartz and Lutie Lyman.

The following students were recognized and honored during the ceremony and in the commencement program:

Principal’s Academic Award – Kathryn Andrus, Mackenzie Armstrong, Kevin Axelrod, Violet Bolstridge, Katie Clute-Reinig, Kimberly Eblen, Tommy Hake, Tori Hansen, Natalie Patterson, Bryce Sampson.

President’s Award for Educational Excellence – Kathryn Andrus, Mackenzie Armstrong, Katie Clute-Reinig, Kimberly Eblen, Tori Hansen, Natalie Patterson.

National Fit American Award – Mackenzie Armstrong, Kevin Axelrod, Mark Bekstrom, Jasper Bissell, PJ Blank-Kump, Violet Bolstridge, Justine Buttz, Katie Clute-Reinig, Claryssa Corona-Russ, Alex Crisci, Angelina Delgado, Kimberly Eblen, Trenten Fischer, Miranda Gerhardt, Mackenna Gott, Hannah Groom, Tommy Hake, Tori Hansen, Raul Hernandez, Alexander Hickey, Paige Hough, Mackenzie Hunt, Kayla Joyce, Harrison Keane, Nile Kirwin, Sayge Mack, Hamedo Mohamed, Sydney Morris, Tiana Mozina, Gabriela Munoz, Harley Parnell-Britt, Natalie Patterson, Alexandra Peruzzi, Spencer Posl, Bryce Sampson, Sejay Sarti, Weston Stroud, Sophia Sutton, India Taylor, Jennifer Teague.

California Fit American Award – Joshua Aguirre, Quinton Baker, Joshua Chang, Collin Cool, Osten Cummins, Jessie Fitzgerald, Asher Funk, Daniel Halford, June Kay-Janke, Chad Mapes, Joshua McClure, Wesley Navarre, Syrus Osborn, Nicholas Pearson, Sara Thornton, Kelsie Titus, Dominic Tognolini, Cambria Vallaire, Jonathan VanDeWalker, Wyatt Zanni.

ACSA students – Natalie Patterson, Kevin Axelrod.

Outstanding band student – Natalie Patterson

Outstanding choir student – Cambria Vallaire

Perfect Attendance – Justine Buttz, Kimberly Eblen, Hamedo Mohamed, Sydney Morris, Alex Peruzzi, Jonathan VanDeWalker.

Sisson Elementary graduate Natalie Patterson is all smiles as she receives her diploma from board members Paul Schwartz and Lutie Lyman on Thursday. Earlier in the evening, Patterson was awarded the Kiwanis Citizenship Award.