McCloud Elementary says goodbye to 14 grads in 2014

Shareen Strauss
During McCloud Elementary's 2014 8th grade graduation Thursday, Principal Shelley Cain lists things money can't buy of her graduating class, including manners, morals, respect, character, common sense, trust, patience, class integrity, and love.

McCloud Elementary School Principal Shelley Cain offered laughter and tears while describing the graduating class of 14 students during the 2014 eighth grade graduation ceremony Thursday evening.

Cain, along with teacher and coach Greta Jones, announced awards and added stories to describe the graduating class’s successes and achievements.

Student addresses were given to a packed auditorium by valedictorian and multiple award winner Eden DeBon, student council president, salutatorian and 2014 Citizen of the Year award winner Payton Weide, and salutatorian Jessica Jones, the student body treasurer.

Coach Jones gave some of the highlights for the year and presented three individual awards: scholar-athlete to Eden DeBon; all-around boy to Gabe Garcia, who played in all three sports; and all-around girl to Sarina Bray.

Jones said the basketball team received two plaques, for the Big Springs tournament and a girls 2nd place finish in league.

She said the volleyball A-team took 3rd place in the league tournament.

In track and field, the girls placed 2nd and the boys 3rd. Placing first in their events were: Jerod DePeralta for shot and discus, who came close to breaking the school record; Nathaniel Clements for the 100 and long jump.

Sarah Mero and Sarina Bray were also acknowledged for their track and field achievements.

A slide show presentation of the graduating class through the years and during school activities was shown after the awards were announced.

McCloud school board member Amber DeBon, with a smile on her face, tearfully awarded the diplomas to the graduates as they walked across the stage: Sarina Kaylee Bray, Nathaniel Scott Clements, Eden Rose DeBon, Jerod DePeralta, Gabriel David Garcia, Nathen Wade Gardner, Odin Michael Honour, Jessica Renee Jones, Sarah Nicole Mero, Azrael Samara Dolphin Morningstar, Calvin Porter Olson, Dallas Jordan O’Neil, Jerry O Somerville, Payton Sage Weide.