Candidates for COS trustee seats sought

Skye Kinkade

The seats of four College of the Siskiyous trustees will be up for grabs in November, and a group of COS instructors and staff have formed a committee to support candidates that share their views and concerns.

The Committee for COS said they will support candidates, both financially and otherwise, who “advocate for COS students, the campus community and the community at large,” said instructor Jayne Turk, who is a member of the group.

The seats of Area 3 representative Carol Cupp, Area 4 representative Barry Ohlund, Area 5 representative Robert Rice and Area 6 representative Gregory Hanna will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.

As of Friday, Rice, Ohlund and Cupp had filed official paperwork seeking reelection, and so far, no challengers have filed for any of the positions.

Those interested in challenging the incumbents have until Friday, Aug. 10, to file nomination paperwork with Siskiyou County Clerk Colleen Setzer.

Turk said the Committee for COS will support challengers and incumbents who “best reflect the values of a quality, accessible and affordable education.”

Cupp, who was appointed to fill the Area 3 seat last August, said having sat on many boards and as a businesswoman, she hopes to provide an alternate point of view. She said she enjoys being involved in the community and especially COS, because community colleges are so important.

“We are dealing with major budget cuts, and there have been many changes,” Cupp said, adding that the year went by “way too fast.”

Those elected to the posts will work with trustees Penny Heilman, Jim Hardy and Alan Dyar, whose terms will end in 2014.

In order to qualify for the COS board of trustees, candidates must be a registered voter within one of the trustee areas. Weed, Yreka, Scott Valley and Montague/Dorris are the four board seats which are to be contested this November.

To reach the Committee for COS, email

Filing information can be obtained by calling the County Clerk’s office at 842-8084.