ELECTION UPDATE: Stewart, Lowe unseated in McCloud, tax measure falls short

Carol Sunnucks

McCloud Community Services District President Brian Stewart and Director Diane Lowe did not win their bids for reelection Nov. 6. Voters chose instead to elect two new members to the board, Chuck Ott and Cathy Young. Director Anne Simmons was also reelected to the board.

Of the 749 total votes for the two full-term seats held by Simmons and Stewart, 369 (49 percent) went to Ott and 282 (38 percent) went to Simmons. Stewart received 12 percent of the vote.

In the race for the two-year term, Young beat out Lowe with 63 percent of the 423 votes cast.

A measure to establish a modified special parcel tax of $12 per year to support McCloud Library failed after it did not receive 67 percent of the vote. Of the 431 people who voted on Measure Q, 227 (53 percent) voted in favor. The tax would have added only $4 per year per household and would have paid to keep the library open another half day.

Young has previously served two four-year terms on the board, and Ott is a postal worker and pastor of the Calvary Christian Center in McCloud. Anne Simmons is co-owner of the McCloud General Store.