NFL announces officials for Super Bowl XLVII

Pro Football Weekly

The NFL announced the officials for Super Bowl XLVII, led by referee Jerome Boger.

Joining Boger's crew are Darrell Jenkins (umpire), Steve Stelljes (head linesman), Byron Boston (line judge), Craig Wrolstad (field judge), Joe Larrew (side judge) and Dino Paganelli (back judge).

The crew collectively has 77 years of NFL officiating experience and 50 combined playoff game assignments.

Boger is in his ninth season as an NFL game official. He has officiated four divisional playoff games. Per the league's statement, the "highest-rated eligible officials at each position earn the right to work the Super Bowl. Super Bowl officials must have at least five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments."

Earlier reports from Yahoo Sports and FootballZebras.com have indicated that the league changed Boger's in-season grades so he would be eligible to be the Super Bowl referee. The NFL denied the reports, with NFL spokesman Michael Signora telling Yahoo, "There is no merit to the suggestion that Jerome Boger's grades were treated differently from those of any other official."

"We congratulate Jerome and his entire crew on being assigned to work at Super Bowl XLVII," said NFL vice president of officiating Carl Johnson. "Just like the two competing teams, every member of this officiating crew has had an outstanding season and earned this honor. We are confident that they will have a great game on Sunday."

Bill Spyksma will be the replay official and Terry Sullivan is the replay assistant.